Oblivion Sun | Oblivion Sun | CD


Out of stock

SKU: MVDA4648 Categories: ,


CD|PRHS|Prophase Music|7/14/2009“Let’s cut to the chase: the music produced by Oblivion Sun for its debut release is as good, if not better, than anything Happy The Man ever produced, and leaves little doubt that this album belongs among the best releases of 2007. Formed by Happy the Man alumni Stan Whitaker (guitars) and Frank Wyatt (keyboards), Oblivion Sun retains the best elements of previous incarnation Pedal Giant Animals and fine tunes its fusion of progressive rock, jazz, metal and funk. The compositions are uniformly excellent, recalling vintage Happy the Man without succumbing to pure homage, finding a delightful balance between retro and progressive. The band explores various genres with great aplomb, from the crunchy Crimson-like delivery of “No Surprises” to a bouncy nod to William Collins on “Bootsy.” Magically working the keys alongside Wyatt is newcomer Bill Plummer, who fits the mold perfectly, while bassist Dave DeMarco and drummer Chris Mack give the music some needed punch. This is one crack band of musicians; they have, without doubt, created an instant classic.” — Mark Newman Progression Magazine (spring 2008)

4.0 out of 5 stars A must for Happy the Man fans Amazon.com

Additional information

Weight 0.01 lbs